OCZ PC2-6400 Titanium CL3 Dual Channel Memory
Author: Zahn Funk
Editor: Shawn Knight
Date: 11-27-2007
Provided by: OCZ Technology
Discuss: View Comments
Pages:
Specifications

The PC2-6400 Titanium CL3 Edition memory is rated for DDR2-800 speed at low 3-4-4-15 timings. OCZ does list them at 2.25v however which is considerably higher than the 1.8v of the JEDEC spec.



The Titanium CL3 is available in 1Gb modules, both individually and as a dual-channel kit, the latter of which we have for review today. The modules are shipped in a clear plastic blister pack with color insert touting the Titanium series performance and quality as well as OCZ's lifetime warranty and technical support. There are also logos from various tech sites as well as quotes from previous reviews.



Judging from the pictures on OCZ's website I was expecting the modules to have titanium-colored XTC (Xtreme Thermal Convection) heat spreaders, however what we received appear to be identical to the mirrored spreaders that come on the Platinum series. Both modules are clearly labeled as the Titanium dual-channel set with the 3-4-4-15 timings. OCZ claims the XTC feature eliminates hot spots that occur behind traditional solid-faced spreaders, as they have numerous holes in the surface that allow air to flow through.



Although not specifically stated in the description, the PC2-6400 Titanium CL3 modules support EPP, or Enhanced Performance Profile. EPP represents a collaborative effort by nVidia and several leading memory manufacturers to provide an easy auto-configuration of memory settings when used on supporting chipsets. Although all memory modules are required to carry Serial Presence Detect settings based on JEDEC specification, EPP goes above and beyond SPD, enhancing performance of the memory by setting lower timing values on boot-up. The memory runs faster without requiring the user to manually change any settings, as has been the case with nearly all overclocking or enthusiast modules in the past.



Using CPUZ to read the values from the PC2-6400 modules, we see that while the JEDEC spec calls for timings of only 5-5-5-15 and 1.8v at 400Mhz (DDR2-800) speed, an EPP profile of 3-4-4-15-2T does exist. What I found surprising was that the profile calls for a whopping 2.4v at these settings! According to the website, these modules only carry a 2.3v EVP (Extended Voltage Protection) rating, however although not specified on this particular product page, OCZ has stated a +/- 5% tolerance in the past. If this holds true for the Titanium CL3 Edition, that means they allow for up to a 2.415 voltage ceiling. Certainly I can't see OCZ specifying 2.4v in the EPP if they don't actually support it.

Regardless, I'm using an nVidia 570 SLI board to test out the PC2-6400 Titanium dual-channel kit, and the first nVidia chipset to support EPP was the 590 SLI, so I am stuck with setting the timings and voltage manually. The specific make/model I'm using is the Biostar TForce 570 SLI, which does have the ability to set the 3-4-4-15 timings, and gives me the option of anywhere from 1.95 to 2.10 volts in the BIOS. While the Titanium CL3 modules work fine using 1.95v at 5-5-5-15, in order to get them to boot at 3-4-4-15 I had to increase this to 2.00 volts. Additionally, the 5200+ processor I'm using with its 13x multiplier does not actually run DDR2-800 at its rated speed at stock settings. Due to the 13/7 memory divider the bus speed must be increased to 215 in order to run the memory at 400Mhz.



Now that we've got the OCZ Titanium CL3 modules working correctly, let's try some overclocking.


  Sponsors Links

  Sponsors Links